My tips on the beach

Welcome everyone,naver_com_20140829_014645Thank you for all your supports on our Facebook and Twitter!

Continue on the last blog post, I’d like to share some tips on this matter.

Growing up in Australia, sunscreen was something essential. But I never knew the sunscreen that we dutifully slather on before a swim on the beach was killing the coral reefs.

Thankfully, I wised up two years ago as I become an active diver. Until then, I didn’t even know sunscreens expire in 1-3 years.

Had no idea of what Oxybenzone was.naver_com_20140511_144119nor to its effects.

But with you my readers, I want to share my findings and three simple tips at the end of the article.

Every year, between 6000 and 14,000 tons of sunscreen washes off swimmers, scuba divers, and snorkelers into coral reef environments. Even more sunscreen pollution can reach coastal areas via waste water discharges.

Up to 10% of the world’s coral reefs may be threatened by certain chemicals such as OXYBENZONE, found in most sunscreens.

So what can you do?

1. Avoid coral keeling sunscreens – I am careful to always use mineral sunscreen with Titanium dioxide or Zinc oxide.

2. Plan to swim – I wear a hat, sunglasses and long sleeves when I am in sun for long periods of time.

3. Find a shade – I try to get 15 mins of good sun exposure a day and look for a shade to stay. 

I want you to follow this simple steps before you reaching for a sunscreen.

Do you have your secret tips? I’d love to hear them in the comments below. Share your thoughts with us.

Oh, I almost forgot to tell you but I will be taking a break for a week.스크린샷 2016-10-18 오전 11.02.53.pngI will see you all after the break!

by C.W.H

(Oxybenzone Free campaign aims to raise awareness of the damaging effects of oxybenzone sunscreens, to reduce Oxybenzone pollution and keep our corals alive. Show us your support on our Twitter and Facebook)

 

One thought on “My tips on the beach

  1. Pingback: Eat a diet high in anti – Oxybenzone Free

Leave a Reply

